Roger Ebert – NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

I just spent a half an hour looking for the essay I convinced Jason to write about why Ebert’s review of Three O’Clock High was bullshit. I couldn’t find it, but it makes me feel good knowing that, at one point in time, it existed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roger Ebert – NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

  1. janet5 says:

    Yeah. I mean, Noooooooooooo!!!
    I remember Ebert making the first feminist critique of a movie that I had ever heard in mainstream media, back in the mid-80s when he and Siskel reviewed “Blue Velvet.” It really had an impact on me, although I had heard much more radical things from other people previously. Basically – here was this mainstream guy saying – directors are in control of how the audience views the abuse of women in film. So what the fuck is Lynch doing to Isabella Rossellini, and is it justified?

    Maybe not the most profound thing ever said, but I couldn’t see the movie for years because of that. I’m still not sure it’s justified in that particular case, and it still makes me suspicious of Tarantino (and others). Maybe more generally, Ebert argued that it is ok to have an emotional response to film beyond an “intellectual” response, and that emotional responses have their own validity.

    Plus he turned out to be much more lefty than I thought. And he was brave as hell.

    So. . . NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Leave a Reply

