Is Anyone on the East Coast / Mid-Atlantic Area Still Alive After the Frankenstorm? Hello?

Kevin? Steveo? Janet? Anyone?

Oh, no. You’re all dead. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

I should’ve posted so much more. I should’ve been here for you people. But it’s too late now. Too late. Too, too late. Much too late.

Why, god, WHY?!?!

About jollyseitan

I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Is Anyone on the East Coast / Mid-Atlantic Area Still Alive After the Frankenstorm? Hello?

  1. k- says:

    When I come back as a zombie, Todd, I’m coming for your brains.

    • jollyseitan says:

      Kevin, I was going to offer you a hug, but you can’t just forget about it now.

      Zombies give me “the willies.” Or is it the heebie-jeebies? Whichever. Just, yecch.

  2. sjmckenzie says:

    Going on a diet, huh?

  3. janet5 says:

    When I come back as a zombie, presumably there will be HOT WATER and I will not be quite as stinky. Thanks for asking, though. Logging on from the only place in town with power and wi-fi. . .

    No power, no heat, no hot water, but I am fine. I am pretending I am camping in the Scottish Highlands but without, like, the campfire or the thermos of hot tea. But, in a more favorable light, without the cowshit and the midges.

    The hundred year-old tree in front of my building crashed down, taking out part of the fence, another tree, and a car (oops). Would it be punk of me to point out that the woman who owns the car is a real bitch and I’m not particularly sorry? Or would that just be mean? I’m not sorry that it fell onto the street and not onto my roof.

  4. sjmckenzie says:

    “Logging on from the only place in town with power and wi-fi. . .”

    Jeez.

    Hang in there, lady. ❤

  5. janet5 says:

    Power back on, at least at my place. Weirdly, for a not-too-huge urban area, something like a third of the population of my city is still totally in the dark. We didn’t get much flooding; mostly wind damage and downed trees/power lines. Coastal New Jersey and parts of New York City look pretty apocalyptic, so I count myself very, very lucky.

    Alex is ok. I had imagined her using her punk rock mojo to fight off crazed hordes of zombified espresso-seeking hipsters, but she is in an area of NYC that did not suffer too much.

    Has anyone heard from Mack?

  6. Steevo says:

    I’ve seen Mack post a few times on the book of faces- so, unless his posts are a hoax perpretrated by Alex, I’m thinking, he’s alive.

    It just rained a lot here, and with all the mass transit shutting down, I missed a day of work. Other than that, all things considered, things fared pretty well in my neck of the woods.

  7. Mack says:

    I’m alive! Things are still fucked, but obviously not as bad as Staten, coastal Queens and Brooklyn and Jersey. The parks have all been closed for 2 weeks now and the YMCA we go to when we can’t go to the park is still a shelter for displaced peeps, so the cabin fever is driving us fucking nuts. Worst nine day weekend ever! The subways are mostly running again, but the tunnels are still out and there is no gas. I saw a pretty brutal brawl at a Mobil station a couple of days ago. People are waiting in line for 6 hours only to find the station’s dry. Assholes are selling 5 gallon cans for $100 on craigslist (including the can! What a deal!) So it still feels weird. Trying to help out as much as possible. The Red Hook Houses and pretty much all the public housing in the Rockaways, Coney, etc are all still completely uninhabitable. I volunteered to help make a couple of runs with supplies to projects in Coney. It is very sad. And I’ve never been so happy to live in a city with crazy restrictive gun laws.

  8. janet5 says:

    I’m glad to hear you are ok.
    From what I have heard, so-called “big government” is pretty much absent and it is neighbors trying to help neighbors. Maybe I’m just cynical, but I don’t know if it’s worth donating more to the Red Cross – is it going to help people? What organizations or groups do you trust that could do better with the aid? Since I’m kind of close by, I feel like I should volunteer somewhere, somehow – or is it better for outsiders to just stay out of the way? (no car, by the way, which makes me less helpful than the average person).

  9. Mack says:

    The folks from Occupy Sandy are the only ones I have seen actually walking up 20 flights of dark stairs full of piss and bags of feces to knock on doors and let people know what help is available and find out what people actually need. I’m sure they will still be helping out for a while since a lot of the people who got hit hardest missed a week of work which means it will take a while to get back to paycheck to paycheck equilibrium. I don’t know if they are doing a “better” job than the Red Cross, just a more human job. And a donation to Occupy Sandy won’t go to paying the Red Cross’s CEO $1 Million+ annual salary or their million dollars per year in lobbying expenses…

  10. Mack says:

    Came across this account of things from someone who has spent more time helping out in the PJ’s than me:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/daniel-marans/occupy-sandy-volunteers_b_2101396.html

    Validating and frightening at the same time to see a non-hierarchical, anarchist-leaning protest movement totally school the government on how to do their job.

  11. janet5 says:

    Thanks. I’d add: depressing that there was no functional emergency plan in place for getting long-term assistance to the elderly and the disabled. And no, I’m not surprised. After 9/11, all the major urban emergency/evacuation plans I looked at seemed to involve getting in your car and driving somewhere (“don’t rely on public transportation to be available!”). Helpful for those who don’t drive, no?

Leave a Reply

