Don Cornelius: NOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Dammit. He apparently committed suicide.

In the 1970s, as a kid who was perpetually uncool*, THIS MAN represented the coolness that I could never possibly achieve. Hell, he even made disco seem cool. On Saturday morning TV, it was never too difficult to decide whether to watch him and the Soul Train dancers or. . . Dick Clark and American Bandstand. I mean, no disrespect to Dick. He’s got his own thing going, there. And hey, he had the Bangles on in the summer of 1983, back when they were still sort of cute and mod. But Don Cornelius could have breathed on Bandstand and blown the whole thing away.

Damn.

*Note: I am not implying that this has changed.

This entry was posted in E-Love, Music, R.I.P. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Don Cornelius: NOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  1. k- says:

    I too watched Soul Train religiously. Here is a clip that I remember seeing when it was broadcast. For weeks, my (cool) friends and I would walk around singing “Don! Cor-NEEE-LIUS!” I love how in awe the Beasties are of Don at the end.

    http://www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x9l1na
    Shadrach (Soul Train Live 1990) – Beastie Boys by cyd125

  2. janet5 says:

    That’s awesome (and I love: “Got more suits than Jacoby and Meyers.”)

    But sh*t. When you think of how much happiness Cornelius brought to so many people, and how much he must have been suffering if he did commit suicide. DAMMIT!!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    I feel the opposite of old reading this.

    • Alex says:

      I am not anonymous I am Alex. I just forgot to log in.

      • k- says:

        Janet was already feeling bad and now you’ve called her old. Nice work, jerk.

        • Alex says:

          I meant that more as a compliment to y’all though. I mean look at people my age. By that I mean most people. I was still sad to see the dude passed away. I remember being like 5 and seeing like reruns of Soul Train or the 90s version or something and thinking that all those people were so cool. Anyway hi Janet! I hope I didn’t make you feel bad.

  4. janet5 says:

    Oh, no worries. I already feel old because I’m getting wrinkly and saggy and hear myself reminiscing about the TV version of “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy.” Who would win the grudge match: Gary Oldman or Alec Guinness? (Gary Oldman in his Sid Vicious days? Alec Guinness from the Lavender Hill Mob?)

    And speaking of olden days – I was remembering that after the hour of Soul Train/Am Bandstand (which usually involved ST and leaving the channel there, because back in the OLDEN DAYS you had to get up off your ass to change the channel), the ST channel would transition into Fat Albert. I didn’t usually get to see much of because I’d have to go get lunch, but it had an *even better* theme song than Soul Train: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WT-fxBNKs8

Leave a Reply

