TV / DVD round-up

We can’t go anywhere in the evenings, so TV and DVDs have fast become a major family pastime. Recent stuff on the menu:

4 studio Ghibli films. I like this work, especially Totoro, Ponyo and Spirited Away. (I thought Castle in the Sky was a bit naff.) It’s partly the animation style I like, but also, the mythological background. If this stuff was European, it would be all cute fairies and probably make me want to gag, but because it is Japanese it has the aura of different-ness, stuff about the spirit world I do not know, and I am continually surprised by all the little things. It reminds me of the original Monkey in this way but is so much better.

The first two seasons of Treme. Good music and a good follow up to The Wire. Anyone been watching this? I particularly like the Indians, Davis Macalarey and how he gets shunted out of the band he forms, and the Dutch guy who ends up working on the prawn boat just so he can get off drugs and date the cute Vietnamese girl.

Star Wars: The Clone Wars. It’s awesome. My son has got me hooked on it. This stuff is so much better than the three modern films, it’s hard to credit. Lucas should have just animated the whole thing.

This entry was posted in Art, Films, Television, The Media. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TV / DVD round-up

  1. Great Southern Steve says:

    PS – STEVE JOBS NOOOOO!

    Wait. I’m not sure of I care.

  2. k- says:

    Don’t care.
    I’ve been watching the Torchwood series. It sucks most of the time.

  3. Great Southern Steve says:

    Why you watch this thing?

    Season 3 of Dr Who has started. Repeat my previous reviews of 1 and 2. Basically I don’t like Dr Who. I just used to like it.

  4. k- says:

    Just started? They showed the season finale on Saturday. I still like it, though I can fill a book with all my critiques of it.
    I’m watching Torchwood because, on a friend’s recommendation, I bought the the first three seasons off of iTunes before coming to Ireland. We’ve got no TV here nor access to Hulu (an American site that streams shows, so the pickings are fairly slim.
    I heard Steve Earle talking about Treme and definitely want to watch that when I get back to the States. Animated Star Wars, though? Not sure I can do that, but I may give it a try.

  5. Great Southern Steve says:

    Steve Earle is awesome in Treme. Just a great character. In general, David Simon’s ability to create characters that are highly representative but also very individualized is kind of amazing.

Leave a Reply

