so, what are you listening too?

Back in the pp.com days, one of the most active threads was Aaron’s ‘What are you listening to right now?’ so I guess this is a lame attempt to fire up the joint.
I just drove to Montreal and it was nice to drive for the 5+ hours listening to a handful of CDs I grabbed on my way out of the door. I’m by myself, so I didn’t have to bring any kids’ CD (but since I make most of their mix CDs anyway, they are usually OK). It was also nice to indulge in listening to the CDs all the way through. When I started doing my podcast several years ago, it changed the way I listen to music. Now I listen to a lot more music from a lot more bands, but I don’t give a song much of a chance to grow on me. If I’m not captivated by two or three listens, it is gone. That also means I’m listening to songs as individual entities rather than albums as coherent collections/statements. So on my way out the door, I grabbed these CDs:
– Swell Maps, Jane from Occupied Europe (fucking brilliant, even 30 years on)
– Jammie Dodgers, Skive Off (it comes with an ‘audio zine’ at the end which is surprisingly good)
– Imperial Can, Hey Fuckers (Chris Clavin is a one trick pony, but I fucking love that trick)
– Fountains of Wayne, Fountains of Wayne (has also held up surprisingly well)
– a mix CD a friend made that kinda sucked but had a few good Camper Van Beethoven songs on it.

So what about you?

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to so, what are you listening too?

  1. Daisy Anne says:

    I’ve been obsessively listening to these recordngs of prison songs from 1947 – mostly from the Mississippi state penitentiary. Dudes can fucking sing.

  2. Costa says:

    The stack of CD’s next to me on my desk that I have to review;

    Summer People
    Everyone Everywhere
    imadethismistake
    brick mower
    Grown Up
    Balance And Composure
    Tigers Jaw
    Maker
    Thinking Machines
    Campaign
    Museum Mouth
    Helen Earth Band

  3. steve says:

    Stiff Little Fingers – Nobody’s Hero
    The Unthanks – Here’s the Tender Coming
    Steeleye Span – Below the Salt
    Wire – Pink Flag
    The Specials I and II
    Basement Jaxx – Crazy Itch Radio
    BellRays – Have a Little Faith

    and, my daughter bought me this horrible Empire of the Sun CD, because she liked the cover, which has a tiger on it. So, that’s been on a lot.

    My household is just starting to get to the point where my kids’ own tastes are starting to get a regular outing.

    So, shit like Fireflies by Owl City and Hey Soul Sister by Train have been on, because my daughter has heard other kids singing them at school.

    I wish there was a way to prevent this development of their own taste. But it seems inevitable.

    • Costa says:

      Beat the independence out of her and just play a steady rotation of Turning Point, Jawbox, the Slits, and the Evens?*

      *) NOTE – I am in no way advocating the beating of children.

  4. janet5 says:

    Stiff Little Fingers and Steeleye Span- yes!!

    I’m in a vaguely cheesy pop phase: hence Gemma Hayes, The Roads Don’t Love You (just got it; currently in a first listen-through; the overly acousticky stuff isn’t sitting well, though, and my stomach is starting to churn. Next, please).

    Also: the Shop Assistants, this time the re-release of Will Anything Happen? The last time I posted to a ‘what are you listening to now’ thread, it was also the Shop Assistants. Clearly, nothing else decent has come out since 1986.

  5. janet5 says:

    Oh. . . oh. . . Gemma Hayes is just. . . appalling. Eeech. This is what I get for not being a good punk. Must purge myself with a couple hours of the first Pretenders album.

  6. steve says:

    I LIKE THE WAY YOU CROSS THE STREET ‘CAUSE YOUR PRECIOUS
    MOVING THROUGH THE CLEVELAND HEAT HOW PRECIOUS
    TAKING RIDES AND ALL THE KICKS WAS SO PRECIOUS
    BUT YOU KNOW I WAS SHITTIN’ BRICKS ‘CAUSE I’M PRECIOUS

    MADE ME WANNA, MADE ME WANNA, YOU MADE ME MAKE IT
    OH, YOU’RE SO MEAN

    EAST 55TH AND EUCLID AVENUE WAS REAL PRECIOUS
    HOTEL STERLING COMING INTO VIEW HOW PRECIOUS
    IT’S A PITY THAT YOU BRUISED MY HIP ‘CAUSE I’M PRECIOUS
    YOU SHOULDN’T LET YOUR MANNERS SLIP YOU’RE TOO PRECIOUS

    MADE ME WANNA, MADE ME WANNA, YOU MADE ME MAKE IT
    OH, YOU’RE SO MEAN

    WE WENT AROUND AND ROUND AND ROUND AND ROUND AND ROUND THE
    SHOREWAY
    WE WAS A DUET DUET DUET DUET DO IT ON THE PAVEMENT
    OH MAYBE MAYBE I’M GONNA HAVE A BABY
    WE WAS A DUET OH WE DO IT ALL NIGHT

    I WAS FEELING KIND OF ETHEREAL ‘CAUSE I’M PRECIOUS
    I HAD MY EYE ON YOUR IMPERIAL YOU’RE SO PRECIOUS
    NOW HOWARD THE DUCK AND MR STRESS BOTH STAYED
    “TRAPPED IN A WORLD THAT THEY NEVER MADE”
    BUT NOT ME BABY I’M TOO PRECIOUS I HAD TO FUCK OFF

    MADE ME WANNA, MADE ME WANNA, YOU MADE ME MAKE IT
    OH, YOU’RE SO MEAN

  7. janet5 says:

    Ahhhhh. . . much better!
    (I always wondered *where* they went round and round and round and round. My life can go on, now).

  8. Alex says:

    I’ve been listening to too much Sam Cooke and Supremes lately.

    • Alex says:

      Also, Okkervil River. And Steve, the fact that you’re listening to Stiff Little Fingers makes me very very happy.

    • k- says:

      You can’t have too much of either Sam Cooke or the Supremes.

      Though is Sam Cooke had signed to Motown, he would have had a much better backing band. And by “better,” I mean soulful.

  9. miranda bastard says:

    I’m going to New York in a couple weeks and apparently The Roots are playing a free show with Talib Kweli while I’m there.

    • miranda bastard says:

      I’m going to be there from July 6th until the 14th. My brother goes to Brooklyn College and I’m going out to visit him and just hang out. I have no idea what any of the fests/places you mentioned are, but I’ll do some googling. Thanks for the info. I haven’t been to New York since August 2001 so I have no idea about anything there really.

    • miranda bastard says:

      Forgot to mention: if you are still around then, I’d definitely be up for grabbing beer or coffee or something.

  10. miranda bastard says:

    All I’ve wanted to listen to for quite some time is Emmy the Great, The Ronettes, The Shangri-Las, France Gall, Francois Hardy, Hole (when I work out), and sometimes Dead Moon.

  11. Anonymous says:

    CANCERS 7″
    Unfun – Shores of Lake Erie
    Gateway District – Partial Traces EP
    Lawrence Arms – Metropole
    Creepoid – S/T
    Direct Hit! – Brainless God

  12. xxadaxx says:

    CANCERS 7″
    Unfun – Shores of Lake Erie
    Gateway District – Partial Traces EP
    Lawrence Arms – Metropole
    Creepoid – S/T
    Direct Hit! – Brainless God

  13. xxadaxx says:

    Double post. I wanted credit for my refined taste in music.

  14. janet5 says:

    Chrissie Hynde. Because I was clicking around the TV and caught her on The Colbert Report, and she is still so fucking awesome. And she is from Akron, people.

Leave a Reply

