SB 1070

This is such bullshit. I’ve heard so many hateful/racist/ignorant comments in the past week than I ever have in my entire life. Granted that’s only 19 years, but it feels like I have a heard a lifetime of hate in this past week. This is what SB 1070 is doing, it’s giving people that are ignorant and/or racist the power to voice hateful and crude things to people like me, that are actually hear legally but understand people’s struggles to come here “legally” or whatever you would like to call it. It’s heartbreaking to have people I respect and admire tell me “well, they should have done it the legal way.” It makes me want to scream and break down. I beg them to tell me what exactly the legal way is, when I have an aunt who has been trying to do it the “legal” way for 10 years now and still can’t become a citizen of the “home of the brave.” This shit is ridiculous. What’s possibly worse is the passage of HB 2281 as well. The main point of that piece of legislation is to prohibit public and charter school districts from including any courses that: 1. Promote the overthrow of the US government, 2. Promote resentment toward a race or class of people, 3. are designed for students of a certain ethnic background, 4. advocate ethnic solidarity rather than understanding the student as an individual. So apparently Arizona is canceling all history classes?

This entry was posted in Mental Illness, Rants and Raves. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to SB 1070

  1. janet5 says:

    Also – HB 2281 would therefore imply that Thomas Jefferson (and that Declaration of Independence thingy) cannot be taught.

    If HB 2281 (courses cannot “Promote resentment toward a race or class of people”) and SB 1070 (which promotes resentment toward races and classes of people) are in the room together, do they explode due to their inherent contradictions?

    Some apparently ‘important’ white lady on a news talk-show this morning, when asked whether “give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to be free,” still mattered, responded by saying that that referred to LEGAL immigration and of course this was something different. Dumbfuck. Given that white immigration/colonization up til the 20th century occurred with almost NO legal context, pretty much all white people were illegal, right?

    What a pile of racist horseshit.
    (hi Alex)

  2. k- says:

    Why do you two hate America so much? Why?

    • epanchinriot says:

      Shut up.

      • k- says:

        No, you shut up.
        (hi Janet)

      • epanchinriot says:

        No, you! And I said hi to Janet first!

        *Hi, K! My Two Big Feet is awesome!*

      • janet5 says:

        I actually feel wanted for the first time in. . . years (*sob*)

        K – one day soon, if you wear that Sandy Claws disguise in Belgium, they will FINE your ass, along with all the burqa-wearers! Perhaps the US is supposed to appear tolerant in comparison???

        Thanks for the recent Geneva 13, by the way. I will take it with me to Iceland.

  3. janet5 says:

    And now apparently there is some bill in AZ that would forbid people with heavy accents from teaching in public educational facilities? WTF?

    • epanchinriot says:

      Yep. That one is true as well. I fucking hate how ignorant and racist people over here are. There was some southern AZ Rancher that got killed last month and they quickly pinned it as some random act of violence by an immigrant. FINALLY, however, they’ve figured out that it was some good ole pre-meditated violence by a CAUCASIAN male. Oh and hi Janet!!!!

      • standing turtle says:

        I live here in the great SoCal and have seen lots of things that have made me, an actual hard working America, somewhat angry. I know the story of my ancestors who came across the Atlantic on a boat not suitable for the 300 travelors on board. I also know that my 5-times-great grandmother died during child birth when they were on Ellis Island waiting for their “legal” passage into the US. She couldn’t get an actual doctor or nurse to help out because they didn’t have any money. I also know that my great grandfather couldn’t get work to support his family (minus his dead wife) until he actually learned English and “allowed” the government to change his last name prior to becoming a citizen. They changed it to something that sounded more English. I’m not sure why actually having to be required to go through the trials and tribulations of becoming a US citizen is so bad when that’s how it’s always been? Not only that, but Mexican immigrants are not forced to even learn English!! My neighbor fought and waited to become a citizen, did it, and does not know, or want to know, a single sentence in English. She rants and raves how the US is just trying to take away every Mexican thing about her. Huh? Is she not American now? I’m so confused…she’s not even proud to be American, but she’s sending her earned American dollars home to family stuck in a country she couldn’t make a decent living in to begin with. Go figure.

        Also, you may want to check the news articles for the 2 Border Patrol agents that were attacked, and one killed, by flying rocks thrown by 5 illegal immigrants near the Colorado River on the Arizona side. This happened in October 2009. The agents were told by their superiors to not draw their weapons given the “poor PR” that would provoke. Oh wait, you can’t! The media doesn’t report on that because those two agents were obviously low-life law enforcement officers who didn’t deserve to live, right? I was working dispatch that day and I can tell you, I’ll always have nightmares about that. God forbid we actually stick up for our own rights as actual US citizens to have our borders and homes protected from those who don’t feel the need to become citizens. By all means, they break the laws by coming into this country to begin with, why should they follow any of our other laws, including the law that states murder is pretty much illegal? Now I’m just being racist, right? They had every right to defend themselves against agents trying to verify their legality with no weapons drawn to begin with.

        By the way, when you start sounding like a little whining baby in your comments, you tend to lose all credibility. If you’re going to discuss adult topics, write with a bit more maturity.

      • happy42xxx says:

        Where did you hear it was done by a white person? I have not heard that as of yet – can you give me a source?

      • Great Southern Steve says:

        I decided to approve this big old comment by Mr White Privilege up here. Took me a little while to ascertain that it wasn’t fake comment style spam, but it appears genuine.

        Summary of paragraphs 1 and 3: “My ancestors did it the hard way, so therefore I get the right to judge everyone now. We should have the same standards on immigration as we did in the 17th and 18th centuries. I call other people on their adult credibility, and then mispell the word traveller.”

        Someone else can summarise the second paragraph. Or not, up to you.

        Anyway feel free to delete this if you don’t want to see it up, but personally I don’t mind if other folks make comments on political posts. Just so long as it doesn’t spill over outside the post in question.

      • k- says:

        OK, I’ll go:
        Para Two: I heard this rumor about some illegal immigrants who killed two border patrol agents. Supposedly the agents were told by their superiors not to draw their weapons. I can’t offer any evidence because the left-wing media is conspiring to keep the TRUTH from you. (This, of course, never happened and anyone with an ounce of brain knows that Border Patrol agents are authorized to use their weapons whenever they feel under threat).

        Para Three: I’m an adult, you’re not.

        In-between-the-lines: I’m scared. I’m really scared. I’m scared about my life and the loss of privilege that is happening around me. I’m scared that the promises whispered to me as a kid will increasingly not turn out to be true as I get older. I’m just plain scared. And I want to blame brown people for my fears and problems.

      • Just asking for Understanding says:

        And about the Teachers not being allowed to teach if they have an accent. What source provided that information? I read the article from the Wall Street Journal that was this first source to show this it does not say that they cannot teach.

        By MIRIAM JORDAN
        PHOENIX—As the academic year winds down, Creighton School Principal Rosemary Agneessens faces a wrenching decision: what to do with veteran teachers whom the state education department says don’t speak English well enough.

        “The Arizona Department of Education recently began telling school districts that teachers whose spoken English it deems to be heavily accented or ungrammatical must be removed from classes for students still learning English.

        State education officials say the move is intended to ensure that students with limited English have teachers who speak the language flawlessly. But some school principals and administrators say the department is imposing arbitrary fluency standards that could undermine students by thinning the ranks of experienced educators.” This was taken directly from the Wall Street Journal.

        Now before everyone gets huffy about my remarks on this. I DO NOT AGREE with this policy at all. If you can teach my child and help them with their future to become a well rounded member of society then you can do it in any language or accent. I mean jeez Albert Einstien had an accent right?

        I am only writing this because I think if you are going to make a statement like the one made by Janet and then supported by Epan then please give some facts.

    • mstrssmyhem says:

      Read the bill before making comments like the one you just made. There is nothing in the bill that has that. That is just stupid.

      • k- says:

        I just re-read the bill and it turns out that earlier I had missed section 2B, where it said you were a stinky sack of poo.
        Please respond so I can creatively edit your comments.

  4. steve says:

    it’s giving people that are ignorant and/or racist the power to voice hateful and crude things

    One of the great strengths of Right wing politics in Australia is it’s ability to give people a target for their frustrations. Illegal immigration is a common target here too.

    I’m not sure about the US, but I know that a lot of people here are not actually racist by nature; it’s learned behaviour, brought about by their frustration at the lack of services and opportunities, and the feeling that things aren’t going right.

    The Left Wing gives people no target for their anger, except maybe bank CEOs. Instead, it blames systemic problems.

    Anyway, just me mulling things over. Sorry you are having to deal with bullshit, Alex.

  5. Elsie Ganzon says:

    Thursday.13 May 2010

    The real tragedy if any, The Honorable Janice K. Brewer Governor of Arizona 1700 West Washington Phoenix, Arizona 85007 announced her decision to sign the Immigration Senate Bill 1070,

    Does the State of Arizona have licensed legal Attorney-At-Law who provide counsel also known as legal advice to the alleged so called govenor read, review, revise B4 sign ing ing ing ing? Hello, did her brain check out of town for vacation, or just plain go AWOL?

    I think an elephants fart smells better than The Honorable Janice K. Brewer Governor of Arizona, and something tells me they are good thinkers even without a law degree.

    Just thinking of possibilities.

  6. Just asking for Understanding says:

    I am just wondering if any of you (on both sides fo the argument) have actually read the law.
    Because you keep talking about race. This law has nothing to do with race an illegal immigrant can be brown, black, white, yellow, red or green.

    And it strictly prohibits the violation of anyone’s civil rights. It futher goes on to say that “Lawful Contact” must be made. This would usually take place in a traffic stop. Now Federal Law states that if you do not show an officer an appropriate form of I.D. you can be fined. This I.D. is known as a Drivers Liscense. So technically everyone that has ever been pulled over in any state has already been affected by this law. And whether legal or illegal if you just happen to be standing on the sidewalk not doing anything wrong a cop cannot ask you to prove your legallity.

    All this law is doing is letting everyone know that AZ is going to start enforcing a law set by the Federal Gov’t. Since the Gov’t is refusing to do it themselves.

    So maybe it’s not this law that needs to be changed but actual citzenship policies themselves that need to be fixed. If it were easier for people to become citizens then we wouldnt have to worry so much about people risking their lives to get here and then living in fear while they are here about being sent back to wherever they came from. And also if people were here legally then they might be able to get paid a proper wage instead of being forced to work for practically nothing.

    • epanchinriot says:

      How does this have nothing to do with race? This is a law passed in a state bordering Mexico, with a high percentage of Mexican people living in Arizona. I’m not saying that all people targeted by this bill are Mexican, but most of them obviously will be. This is what bothers me most about SB 1070, that people of color like me, that are “legal” are going to have to put up with unecessary bullshit. I don’t care about claims that the bill is totally legal and constitutional. I just want someone to give me a straight answer on how you’re supposed to find out if someone is “legal” or “illegal” without using the color of their skin of their factor? Is a blue-eyed blonde-haired girl going to get asked for her papers? I highly doubt it. And with the passage of HB 2281, it is clear that Arizona is in a state of paranoid xenophobia. SB 1070 is unconstitutional and HB 2281 is just another step in the direction to alienate ANY people of color living in Arizona. Pretty soon, Arizona is going to be a completely white state, which I guess is what Russell Pearce, Jan Brewer, and Joe Arpaio are all after.

      I completely agree with you about the need for better citizenship policies, though. It’s taken members of my family up to ten years just to get a work visa. I think if this would have been taken care of years ago, then the xenophobia we see happening now could have been avoided. The federal government isn’t doing anything (big surprise.) I think it’s time for the people to handle this, but not the State of Arizona. Fuck this place. My friend’s dad got stopped just this week (THE LAW ISN’T EVEN IN EFFECT YET) for looking too Mexican. The cop kept him parked for over an hour while he looked over his papers again and again. Then let him off by simply telling him that his windows were “too tinted.” I’m not saying that all law enforcement are going to do stupid shit like this, but of course, it’s giving them the power too.

      • Just asking for Understanding says:

        Well Epan it is good to see you dont think all cops are a-holes.
        And just for my own knowledge what papers exactly was it that the cop looked at? And just to let you know if what you discribed happened just like that. Then the cop was breaking the law period. I’ll also disregard the innuendo of the blonde hair blue eyed girl but to answer the question Yes even she should be asked for ID, and I’ll go bakc to the comment that if your are stopped everyone has already been as for their proof it is a Driver’s License. If you don’t have that type of ID then doesnt any immigrant always carry a visa or green card on them? I know my wife does because she is not an American Citizen yet.

      • Monsoon says:

        Just came across this site. I’m married to a Mexican-American and we live in Arizona. My husband also has put up with a lot of stuff from police simply because of his race. I may not have known this exists if it weren’t for my husband and his family (who are all legal citizens). When I hear Jan Brewer say on the news that there will be no racial profiling, I don’t know how that can be. It’s already existed here for years.

  7. Just asking for Understanding says:

    And this is in response to K who seems to think that border patrol agent thing is just a rumor.

    A Customs and Border Patrol agent patrols along the international border after sunset in Nogales, Ariz. Thursday, April 22, 2010. Illegal immigration and border security are heating up as issues after the slaying of a border-area rancher and imminent passage of state legislation to crack down on illegal immigration. (AP Photo/Matt York)
    (CNSNews.com) – Three Border Patrol agents are assaulted on the average day at or near the U.S. border. Someone is kidnapped every 35 hours in Phoenix, Ariz., often by agents of alien smuggling organizations. And one-in-five American teenagers last year used some type of illegal drug, many of which were imported across the unsecured U.S.-Mexico border.

    These facts are reported in the recently released National Drug Threat Assessment for 2010, published by the National Drug Intelligence Center, a division of the U.S. Justice Department. They ought to add some perspective to the national debate raging over Arizona’s new law that requires local law enforcement officers to make a “reasonable attempt” to determine the immigration status of persons they legally come into contact with and whom they reasonably suspect of being in the country illegally

    Assaults on Border Patrol agents have massively escalated in recent years, according to the Justice Department threat assessment, which was released on March 25. “Assaults against U.S. Border Patrol (USBP) agents increased 46 percent from 752 incidents in FY2006 to 1,097 incidents in FY 2008,” says the assessment. Given that there are 365 days in the year, 1,097 assaults equals 3 per day.

    “Contributing most to this increase were rocking assaults, which rose 77 percent from 435 incidents in FY2006 to 769 incidents in FY2008,” said the assessment. A “rocking assault,” the assessment explains, “is defined as the throwing of rocks at Border Patrol agents by drug or alien smugglers with the intent of threatening or causing physical harm to the agent.”

    The assessment also noted that Border Patrol agents are sometimes murdered in the line of duty. “However, some assaults against USBP agents in California have been deadly,” it said, “including the January 2008 murder of a USBP officer who was struck and killed by the automobile of a fleeing drug suspect in Imperial County and the fatal shooting of a USBP officer investigating suspicious activity in Campo in July 2009.”

    The assessment indicates that kidnappings have become commonplace in Phoenix, Ariz., because families involved in alien smuggling have moved there to escape inter-smuggling-organization violence in Mexico.

    • k- says:

      Did you just provide evidence to support the earlier claim that two agents were killed in Arizona because they weren’t allowed to use their weapons? No you did not. It remains a baseless rumor. Please don’t make shit up in order to advance an argument.

      • Just asking for Understanding says:

        Well K this info was not made up it was taken from a news article if you paid close attention you would have seen where the article was copied from. And just because it doesnt specify the exact argument of whether or not a border patrol agent got stoned to death because they werent allowed to pull their guns is not the point i was trying to make. I was just showing you that agents get attacked just about everyday. So that might lead to the possibility that an incident such as the one that was described could have happened.

      • k- says:

        Understanding: I did read the stuff you posted. I saw where it came from. What did I gleam from that information? A cop’s job is dangerous. Already knew that. So do they. But did it address the original claim made by Standing Turtle? No, it didn’t. You opened your conversation with me by stating: “And this is in response to K who seems to think that border patrol agent thing is just a rumor.” Did you substantiate that rumor? No you didn’t. Until someone can provide any credible evidence about any Border Guard being murder because they weren’t allowed to pull their weapons, then I stand by my assertion that Standing Turtle is making shit up.

  8. Great Southern Steve says:

    This law has nothing to do with race an illegal immigrant can be brown, black, white, yellow, red or green.

    I agree with what you have said about citizenship laws being made easier – but this part of your post is colour blind, and I think basically, you must know that.

    In my country, the major problem with illegal immigration is actually white U.S. and U.K. backpackers who overstay their visas, and hang around doing cash-in-hand work. No-one cares. An ID inspection campaign would NEVER be targeted at this group of people.

    Then, a boat load of 30 brown-skins show up from Indonesia, and everyone starts blabbering about how we are being overrun. It’s bullshit.

    A law like this is only ever enforced to target a specific group of people. In the case of this bill, it’s obviously Mexicans. Saying “it’s just a law and we are all equal under the law” is being disingenuous.

    • Just asking for Understanding says:

      Your right Steve I was being color blind in my argument again because Illegal immigrants come in all colors. And to assume that “all cops” are going to harass Mexicans is to assume that all cops must be white.
      Because why would a Mexican cop harass a mexican person for ID right?
      And another Question why is it that “ALL” white people are racist?

      Now America’s laws apply to everyone living in here. And in our constitution it does state that “All men are created equal” so with that all men are equal under our laws. If a person commits a crime that would make them a criminal correct?

      Now to quote you from earlier you said A law like this is only created to target a specific group of people is a little strange to me, because a law about being in the country legally has been in place for many more years than sb 1070. The Federal Govt created an agency to enforce this law its known as the INS. So all I ask is why is it now a problem when a state decides to enforce the Federal Gov’ts own law that has already been in place for years.

      Also how is it that so many mexicans are upset about this law when in Mexico the govt requires that all law enforcment are required to ask about the immigration status of all the people they stop before proceeding to the reason why a person was stopped.

      • epanchinriot says:

        We are not talking about Mexico, we’re talking about the United States. Focus. Do we really ever want to consider the laws in Mexico as possible laws in the United States? I love Mexico but government wise it is more fucked then we are.

  9. Just asking for Understanding says:

    Epan I am very focused. I was just offering a fact about laws. I am still wondering have you read the law itself? Because no where in it have I seen anything that says GET RID OF MEXICANS. Again all it states is that it is going to enforce FEDERAL law.

  10. Just asking for Understanding says:

    Epan Yeah that is the same source that I quoted from the Wall Street Journal the actual article is copied and pasted in my argument. Again it still does not state that they cannot teach. It just doesnt want them teaching to people who are learning english.

    And I still do not agree with it as I stated I dont care what you sound like if you can teach me something new.

  11. Great Southern Steve says:

    Now to quote you from earlier you said A law like this is only created to target a specific group of people is a little strange to me…

    Er, no. What I said was that it is only ever ENFORCED to target a specific group of people.

    Your petulant whining about the purity of U.S. Federal Law is sounding pretty dumb to me and I think you are (deliberately) missing the point. The problem isn’t the creation of the law itself, or the spirit of the constitution or whatever. It’s the decision to rigorously enforce certain laws in certain situations, and not in others.

    Is there a move to target illegal immigration by looking at the ID papers of white people in rich suburbs? No? Why not? If we are all equal under the law, then shouldn’t the law be enforced equally?

    • Just asking for Understanding says:

      Well im not whining about how our govt is I am simply stating that everyone who is opposed to this seem to believe that ALL cops are white and that All cops are racist so the people ENFORCING the law are only going to target hispanics. And not just a few hispanics but ALL HISPANICS and that is just ridiculous in itself.

      The specific group that this bill is trying to target is ILLEGAL immigrants.

      • k- says:

        You are whining.
        And your general complaint now seems to be that “everyone who is opposed to this” believes all cops are white and racists. First, nobody here is stating that all cops are white (though, for the record, all the cops in my town ARE white. There is one guy from Grenada who works in the PD as a parole officer.) Second, nobody here is arguing that all cops are racists. So you are talking out of your ass on two counts. Third, if you really don’t believe the enforcement of this Arizona law won’t target Hispanics, your head is up your ass (which would explaining the talking bit). And finally, can we just take a moment to linger on the irony that you are complaining that “everyone” on the opposite side is over-generalizing? Please. You’re done here. You don’t warrant any more of my time or energy.

  12. Understanding says:

    Well K I didn’t say that this bill isn’t going to target Hispanics I said that it will target all illegals. But again if you had taken the time to actually read the bill you would know that it isn’t a Nazi papers please kind of thing. You guys are the ones saying it’s unfair because white people won’t be asked to show I.d. So again you are the ones making it a race issue.

    I just want to see a legitimate argument based in some fact. Read the bill yourself don’t just repeat what you have heard from someonelse.
    After you have done that then come back and tell me where the bill is wrong. But if you can’t take the time and energy to read a 16 page document then I guess we are done here.

  13. k- says:

    I’ve read the bill. You’re all over the map and don’t know what your exact argument is. I especially love the argument that people who recognize racism are the ones “making it a race issue.” Excellent logic there. Now go away.

  14. Understanding says:

    I’m all over the map because I realize that the state govt is doing what it feels is necessary to help it’s economy? The fed govt has failed in protecting it’s citizens and in no way does the bill state anything close to racism. I always fund it funny people jump straight to racism when they can’t understand what is really going on. But they debate will be over soon anyways because there are already other states drafting their own bill just like AZ’s

  15. Dude says:

    Sadly Arizona is the new Nazi state which will increse nazi ideologies in the United States. The issues and problems Palestinos are fazing in Israel/ Palestina are the same issues minorities are going ti face in the United States. Sadly United States citizens that support the Democratic Party or Republican Party are ignorant and stupid. They haven’t learn from the mistakes the goverment of Germany, Japan, and Russia made before and during World War Two. Alas, the bad treatment the goverment of Germany placed toward Jews are the same treatments the goverment of Israel is brining towards Palestinos.

Leave a Reply

