Places I’d rather be right now

In no particular order:

1. Halifax, Nova Scotia

2. Broadford or Upper Breakish, Isle of Skye (Lower Breakish would be ok, too)

3. Fort Greene, Brooklyn

4. San Rafael, California (rain, not snow)

5. London (Daisy’s there – that’s enough for me)

Going anywhere would mean being able to overcome the particularly vicious spell of paranoia and depression I’m dealing with right now. Hence the fantasy.  Apologies for the vaguely trivial post. Carry on, carry on. . .

This entry was posted in SATAN!, Travel, Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Places I’d rather be right now

  1. steve says:

    1. Halifax, Nova Scotia.

    Yeah, or Sydney even. I’d love to go here, when one of the festivals was on.

    2. Broadford or Upper Breakish, Isle of Skye (Lower Breakish would be OK, too)

    Yeah, South Skye. We stayed up in Trotternish and it was great, but we kinda ended up driving down to the Cuillins and the other places in the south all the time. Mull is a great island, too.

    I’m not sure about London. It has the mange. Getting Daisy out of London is possibly a better option.

    My own:
    3. Sapporo or in the forests of Hokkaido, waiting for it to warm up a bit.

    4. Fjordlands, South Island, New Zealand

    5. Margaret River / Far South coast, Western Australia

  2. janet5 says:

    My non-depressed self would love to go to Australia, New Zealand and Japan, preferably with my hiking boots and some decent company. My depressed self argues that this isn’t going to happen, so why don’t we just sulk in a corner?

    I like London because it is huge and sprawling and shy people can just walk around lots and get lost in the crowd. The exchange rate is a bit of a problem, though. The others on the list are places where, for some reason, the vibe is just right for me. They seem to be places that are fairly accommodating to anyone who washes up on the shore, and where even my depressed self feels somewhat protected.

    I have only been to Mull to catch ferries to elsewhere. I would like to give it a chance on its own.

  3. steve says:

    Actually I liked London when I lived there briefly as a PhD student (3 months) but would not want to live there long-term.

    I know what you mean about the impersonal nature of the City but found that if you wait long enough, Londoners do actually try to make friends with you.

    Then you can snub them.

    That was important to me because my fellow countrymen have a reputation in the UK as being garrulous yokels, so I found that the Londoners were quite mystified by an Australian that was quite uninterested in talking to them.

  4. miranda bastard says:

    I’d rather be in Brooklyn too. I’m trying to move there, but it’s happening slowly.

Leave a Reply

