And This is News…How?

Last October, an autopsy by the Cook County medical examiner’s office determined that a 3-month-old South Side girl was the victim of homicide. The event remains unreported largely outside Chicago local media, but it appears that she may have been bashed to death by a parent.

Not really newsworthy, I guess, unless you live in Chicago.  I assume that kind of thing happens sometimes. It does here in my home-town, too.

Still, I do wonder how much police time is dedicted to solving such an incident, compared to the police attention given to fucking Michael Jackson and his stupid fucking doctor and his stupid fucking drug habit and his stupid, horrible family.

I don’t live in LA. I’m not sure why I should be bombarded with information about some rich, insane arsehole and his botched assisted suicide attempt / overdose / predatory doctor. I’m sure that kind of thing happens from time to time in “LA rich people land.” But that’s not where I live. So, how is that news?  

Basically, I think it must be almost impossible for police to maintain their integrity about time and resources when this kind of shit happens.

This entry was posted in Ethics, Rants and Raves, The Law, The Media. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And This is News…How?

  1. k- says:

    Of course you are right.
    [Shakes clenched fist angrily at media corporations. Sighs deeply. Walks on.]

  2. janet5 says:

    More Americans were killed in Chicago in 2008 than were killed in Iraq. . .

    Although that says nothing about the number of Iraqis killed in Iraq. Now I am really depressed.

  3. I was just trying to imagine the LAPD chief getting up in front of the media and saying, “look, we’ve got hundreds of active murder files at the moment. This Jackson case isn’t really a top priority. We’ll stick a couple of people on it for a few days and if there’s no progress we’ll move on, like any other case.”

    I wish that would happen.

Leave a Reply

