drunken ramblings… (vic chestnutt, nooooo!)

so being that it is insanely late and i am drunk, i feel the need to post something i can properly regret tomorrow. or whenever i next happen to be sober. ba.
someone needs to write a noooooooooo!! vic chestnutt thread. i can’t believe it!!! i always thought in my warped and rediculous fantasies that i would see him play live someday, and somehow through the magic of a real and personal god, record with him. yeah right, i know, but he was such a big deal to me at a critical time. fucking life.

also, i saw mousetrap play live!!!!! OMG is the correct response. i’ve been waiting 15 years for it, and it was soooo worth it. strange, all the faces from by-gone punkrock days of yore. god, pat is so hott and sounding fucking fabulous. but it did make me feel old and needing to kick some serious musical ass! i don’t want to sit here and remember shit that was never that great. i want to play fuggin music goddamit!!!! jeebus, omaha did used to have the scene. fuckin posers have ruined it, but i really must go to more shows. i wish any of you would’ve been here to bask in true punkglory. end broadcast. sleep commences. i’ve contributed my waste of verbage. sigh, goodnight pukeplanet diaries.

About chartreuseviolet

i only came back to bask in my own pathetic nostalgia. no one fucking cares anyway, so i could write anything about your mother here. she's great in bed, by the way. note: i heart howbouthemgolfshoes, wombmoon, taco porches, lonestar beers with the fist, dc mikewhereareyou? and dr. dorkus too?, bobRIP, soundofcrickets, beating unicorns, seitan, robothouse, chris the hipster lawl!, so many more. god, i'm fucking old and pitiful. fav bands of moment: low failure simon joyner ZOOM! hum fugazi tripping daisy my bloody valentine the cure mew fever ray ender mousetrap sonic youth whatever crap blah blah fav booksies: weaveworld (no, it's not about hair weaves and latifah is not in it) better than sex banned in dc no blacks, no irish, no dogs please kill me lipstick traces anger is an energy the loneranger and tonto fistfight in heaven anything by adrian louis, like skins shellshaker almanac of the dead other shit pp had a zine list and it made me laugh. like i fucking read zines anymore. that might require leaving my house and being cool, which i am not. i didn't even know there were zines anymore. doesn't everybody fucking blog or some other retarded shit? fav films: fuck, that's a long list. not doing it. no one is reading this anyway. pp had a band question too, so here's my VERY IMPORTANT ANSWER: anyone that wants to form one with me right fucking now! or shit i do by myself.
This entry was posted in Drugs, Mental Illness, Music, R.I.P., Rants and Raves. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to drunken ramblings… (vic chestnutt, nooooo!)

  1. k- says:

    Ah fuck! I hadn’t heard about Vic Chestnutt until I read this. I did some searching to make sure it was true and not the invention of your drunk mind. Unfortunately, it is true. An apparent suicide, it seems. Crap. I remember the first time I say Vic: it was in Charlotte in the late 1980s. Somebody walked from the dance floor towards the bathroom and he started abusing them from the stage: “Go ahead and walk away, you fucker! At least you can!” and shit like that. I’ve met and spoken with Vic a couple of times over the past two decades. Honestly, he was always a difficult person to socialize with: bristling with bitterness and an unforgiving tongue that made me feel like I was wasting his time. After the first interaction, I realized that was his default mode and I stopped taking it personally. That raw anger and his unwavering refusal to deal with anyone’s bullshit for more than a nanosecond made him an impressive human and a wonderful artist. Hat’s off, I hope you’ve found some peace.

  2. chartreuseviolet says:

    “west of rome” is my favorite, but “is the actor happy?” is fucking awesome too. it took me a few listens to appreciate it, but it grows on you. i was into hating all things country at the time i first heard it, but a fellow punkrock psycho introduced me. i didn’t even get alt-country or bluegrass or anything until i was 17 or so. but he’s a brilliant lyricist, one of the best really.

    i’m pretty desperate and if i could move to brooklyn i would. i do hope to wake my baby, since she’s seven and listens to all that radiodisney shite. she needs to be exposed to music rowdyness, but it’s hard to find people who are cool with someone who isn’t 16 and playing in their mom’s basement, ya know? i play nothing, and i sing and write. poetry these days. so basically i’m useless. to you. to myself. to anyone. wah. tour through here in your ancient reunion obscurity and i will totally go see you. then abduct you and make you collaborate with me or suffer the wrath of saddle creek hipster hell (that’s my current address.) the standard of living here is a lot cheaper too, wink and a nudge. right now, i’m desperate enough to get into tape/internet collaboration because anything else is nigh-on impossible.
    .
    omaha in the early/mid 90’s was the fuckshit- the cog factory, killer bands that were really diverse, the antiquarium. no hipsters, no yuppies, actual diy music community. it’s all gone now, but i think there could be a resurgence, thanks to the aging contingent of people like me who are tired of smug little thriftstore fucks. it could happen. and i’m gonna do my best to make it so. or lose my small mind. like the new pic, by the way. thought it was someone else for a moment.

  3. k- says:

    Internet collaboration for making music? I’m in. I’m not sure how it would actually be done, but I bet we could all contribute to one kick ass mediocre song. You on vocals, Steve on geetar, Mack and me on dueling basses, Daisy on drums, Alex on Spanish back-up vocals, Costa and Steve-O on spices and catering. It could be gloriously horrible.

  4. chartreuseviolet says:

    that is the best idea everty-fuck-ever! best internet album of 2010.
    i can attest to the fact that sleeping on floors at our age is way more hardcore. i’ve been doing it since i moved back here, and i already feel tougher than 99% of the “punk” bands these days. but my grandma is more hardcore than them, and she’s a dead catholic. actually, i have multiple shitty egg-crate mattresses even! i’ve tried to get people to come through here in the pp old days, but it never quite happened. i’m always ready. except for the fact that i fake the whole 9-5 student thing during the week. very fake. you’d better hurry or you’ll miss getting stuck in the 15 ft snow drifts.

  5. Steevo says:

    hmm

    I highly recommend John Doe’s solo stuff (also, the knitters)

    Jon Langford of the Mekons also has some good solo albums out too..

  6. k- says:

    OK, I’m in. Let’s try and make this work. Steve Unbeknownst, you’re in charge.

  7. steve says:

    So someone hook a white boy up with some drum tracks, fo’schnitzel.

    (If no drummers step forward, I’ll just get some samples.)

    Of course, you realise, this will never get off the ground. I doubt anyone here has
    the gumption for anything but the mediocre “failure to try” type of failure. For lasting, spectacular, “worked your arse off and still got nowhere” failure, you have to step up to the next level. You really have to want it.

  8. chartreuseviolet says:

    if someone sends me a guitar or bass track, or something of that nature, i can probably write a vocal for it. i’m used to that kind of thing. i used to do it fairly often in the past, even if there was more potential for in-person collabo. it won’t really be any different, and i’m sure it’s preferable to the kind of “i used to be in 311” guys i had to bow to usually. smarmy little bastards.

    i’m so in. even if i can’t manage it or it sucks, it’ll still be fun. i have lots of ill-suited poetry for the occasion. fo snizzle.

Leave a Reply

