We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful

Being back home for Winter Break only reminds me of all the reasons I left this place in the first place. Which sucks, because I was expecting some sort of epiphany where suddenly I would prance around tossing about love for every inch of here. My friends here suck, they act as if I’ve betrayed them or something by going off instead of sticking around and hanging around the same places, doing the same things, watching the same acts. 16 more days and I go back to my new home.

This entry was posted in Mental Illness, Rants and Raves. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful

  1. steve says:

    I get the opposite form of Xmas evil; my right-wing in-laws looking at me sideways wondering why I am not more successful already (real reason everyone avoids talking about: I am lazy). But I only have one family thing at the in-laws tonight and then the horror is over – and actually, so far it hasn’t been too bad.

    Anyway maybe your friends just want you to to ask them about their kooky new projects. I got a much-more-successful-than-me friend coming over, we’re hanging out on Boxing Day, and sometimes it can be a drag listening to him going on about his latest mega-exploits with the ghost of James Joyce in Dublin or whatever. I want him to ask me what I am up to. Even if it is way less interesting.

  2. epanchinriot says:

    “But I only have one family thing at the in-laws tonight and then the horror is over – and actually, so far it hasn’t been too bad.”

    Well, I’m glad it hasn’t been so bad, at least.

    And I have been asking them about what they’re up to… constantly, actually. I don’t really even mention anything about what I’ve been doing with my new life, unless they ask. Which is an even more seldom occurrence than them having some new story to tell. And I do listen when they have stories! I’m not some selfish prick, ya know!

  3. steve says:

    Oh.

    Well in that case, your friends do actually just suck.

    Sorry.

  4. steve says:

    btw is this title a quote from something?

  5. steve says:

    That explain why I do not know it.

Leave a Reply

