Frightful Pedant

I don’t wish to be a frightful pedant but the dictionary definition of ‘album’ states (and I paraphrase):”A collection or anthology of writings or selections of music”. I had this argument many times with my dear grandmother back in Burma long before the days of internet message boards. On sundays, just after evensong, the family would gather round in the parlour at my grandmothers and discuss subjects ranging from “who was the most alcoholic district commissioner”, “most tiresome local insurgent group” and “will the kids ever be united?” but more often than not, we’d discuss everyone’s top five punk albums. My grandmother, god rest her soul, would become quite irate at my suggestion that the Buzzcocks’ “Singles Going Steady” was the best punk album. “It’s not a real album!” she’d thunder, “It’s a compilation!” and she’d pound her fists against the table top, scattering china and servants hither and yon. Not even holding her down on the floor, forcefully holding open her eyes and placing a copy of the Oxford English in front of her, opened at the approprate page, would ever make her think otherwise. As a family in-joke, we played that particular record in it’s entirety at her funeral. It still raises a smile time to time.

Shaun A., Terminal Boredom forums, December 4, 2009.

This entry was posted in E-Love, Mental Illness, Music, Websites, Writing (Fiction). Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Frightful Pedant

  1. steve says:

    things I found out since chatting / cheating that forum some more.

    I have never lived because I have not previously listened to the Electric Eels.

    The kind of music I like makes me a gay fag.

    My views on Nick Cave have a certain credibility.

  2. k- says:

    The Electric Whozits?

    I was a gay fag once. It was weird.

  3. chartreuseviolet says:

    i knew there was a reason i liked you. both gay and fag are where it’s at. i should know, i am The Gay apparently. and your views on nick cave only have credibility if you bow down and worship, at least his older stuff.

    i want to join that family, sounds awesome.

    • Steevo says:

      Now really, Ms. Violet are you serious?

      are you forgetting that when referring to oneself (or another) as “The Gay” that proper grammar requires using:

  4. steve says:

    Great Scott! He’s right!

  5. chartreuseviolet says:

    good point steevo. i should recognize the importance of trademark protection as a student of the law. maybe it’s the fact that my interest in men makes me such a bad lesbian which totally screws my ability to assert proper title. damn my confusion.
    on the bright side, i’m seriously annoyed at the beyonce dreams i keep having. wait, that’s bad too. damn videophone.

Leave a Reply

