Hello again

1106090118

Hey everyone. I’m feeling the full force of insomnia tonight. This is the view out the front window of my apartment. My neighborhood is old and when it’s empty like this it is haunting. It is especially eerie to walk home around this time. This street used to be brick and instead of tearing up the brick and using modern materials, they just slopped pavement right on top of the original road. At this time of night, everything echoes. It’s easy to get startled by sounds, only to realize that you are the one making them. I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else.

I sort of forgot about this site until recently. I’ve been sick so I’ve had a lot of time on my hands. I went to ye olde pp.com to see what had happened to the wreckage and then wandered here. How is everyone?

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hello again

  1. Daisy Anne says:

    I’ve missed you, lady!

  2. janet5 says:

    Hi Miranda! I hope you have not been sick with the “hinny,” as a friend of mine said one of her students called it. I hope you’ll be around here more (and I like your photo – as usual).

    • miranda bastard says:

      I have swine flu, if that’s what you mean by the “hinny”. Wah wah. I’m not terribly ill or anything, it just kind of sucks. Thanks, about the photo. This was taken with my cell phone, but I’ve recently dug out my real camera and started using that more. So hopefully I’ll have better pictures to contribute on a regular basis (once I can actually get outside and start shooting things, of course).

      • janet5 says:

        I look forward to more pictures (you took that one on your phone??).

        Yeah, the hinny = H1N1. A friend of mine was required to start her classes back in August by telling her students what to do in case they got swine flu and missed class, exams, etc. At which point, someone raised his hand and said, “But what about the hinny? What do we do if we get the hinny?”

        I hope you feel better soon. I have been stockpiling ramen noodles, Sprite, and lemon jello, for when the inevitable hits me as well.

      • miranda bastard says:

        Yep, my phone. It’s a semi-fancy one with a 2.0 megapixel camera. I’m getting an even fancier one soon, with a 5.0 megapixel camera. Sorry, I’ll stop nerding now.

        Thanks for the well wishes. I’m mostly over it now, it seems like. Just feels like a bad cold at this point. I don’t have much of a fever anymore or anything.

  3. miranda bastard says:

    I must have picked up your creepy brain waves. Things are okay. I’ve dropped most of my classes because of health and stress issues. Work is terrible as ever, but I got a raise recently. I keep getting sick. But I live in a cute apartment with a wonderful boyfriend and three cats. I need to read less news though. My google reader says that I’ve read over 7000 articles this month, which explains my constantly sour mood.

Leave a Reply

