trailer for my new documentary

I’ve spent roughly the last two years working on this documentary. I actually inherited it from somebody else who started the project when they heard Ray, the singer of Stevie Stiletto, had days to live. After shooting about 30 hours worth of interview footage, he lost interest (Ray is still alive, though not doing great) and/or got over-whelmed with other projects. So, about two years ago, he handed me his box of tapes and wished me luck. I collected more interview footage, loads of old concert footage and then started editing it all down (roughly 100 total hours). Turns out, making a documentary is hard fucking work. I taught myself Final Cut, the editing software. After almost two years, I have finally finished it. It isn’t perfect, but it is done. It runs a few minutes over two hours. I’ve shown it to a few people and they all think it is great — I say this not as a boast, but because I lost critical distance on it a long time ago, so it was crucial to get validation. It is going to premiere down in Jacksonville, Fl (where the band lives) on Friday, October 9th at an old renovated art house theater. So come on down! I’m also releasing it on DVD, which will come with a 22-song retrospective CD. In fact, I need to go work on the end credits some more right now. But here is the trailer. I reserve the right to go in and edit all negative comments, turning them into positive ones. I can’t handle the criticism at this point.

This entry was posted in Films, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to trailer for my new documentary

  1. janet5 says:

    Hey. Wow. This is awesome stuff. I mean, you earn my infinite respect just for learning the technical side and putting it together. No way would I have the stamina to stick with something like that. But even better, the trailer actually does what a trailer is supposed to do – it makes me want to see the film (sorry, I won’t be able to make it to Jacksonville, though).

    I guess I’m a little embarrassed because I had never heard of Stevie Stiletto until last year when I read about the band on the G-13 website. I was pretty big into the San Francisco scene in the early 80s but didn’t have much knowledge of anything outside the area (and even there, I was a bit restricted to what a non-driving young teenager with zero funds would be able to figure out). So I’m just happy that you introduced the band to me.

    Seriously, I look forward to being able to see the whole film. Maybe you could submit it to the South Side Film Fest here in Bethlehem? They tend to take things that are a little shorter (an hour and a half, say), and I wouldn’t want you to have to mutilate your art to make it fit. But you might give it a shot. . .

  2. Daisy Anne says:

    I agree with Janet — I now want to see the rest of the film!

  3. epanchinriot says:

    This looks freaking awesome K!

    I like how my new hometown is called out in the trailer too (even if its just to say its God-forsaken). Let me know when you have it out on DVD!

  4. k- says:

    Thanks Janet, Daisy and Alex. I appreciate your kind comments (the rest of you can fuck off and die!). It’s been a labor of love and the last 2% have taken forever. But I’ve almost got everything boxed up and will ship it to the press on Tuesday. In addition to the g13 and band websites, we’re going to distribute it through Amazon.com. I’ve got to say I’m feeling really weird about that. I even had to buy a UPC code for it. Janet, I will totally send it to the Film Festival if only to be able to hang out with you, even if you are monstrously shy and refuse to open your door to me. Maybe I should go on tour with it. Hmmm….

  5. janet5 says:

    Well, if the Film Festival doesn’t include you, I shall. . . start a fringe! Yes, the South Side Film Fest Fringe may indeed be born! And if I’m feeling too terribly shy, I’ll just wear a burqa.

  6. Great Southern Steve says:

    It looks pretty tight, K. I’d go see it.

Leave a Reply

