I was into Dungeons and Dragons before it was cool

I’ve been into it since way back, when we used to carve our own dice out of wood and the manuals were hand written. Back when we used to actually cut ourselves when we lost hit points. Back when the pizza guy came on a horse. That’s how long I’ve been playing Dungeons and Dragons. How about you?

This entry was posted in Savage Nerdery. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I was into Dungeons and Dragons before it was cool

  1. Costa says:

    Goddamn nerd…

  2. Steevo says:

    Never played D n D- but, circa ’95 I played an early version of Vampire the Masquerade: —->http://www.amazon.com/Vampire-Masquerade-Revised-Justin-Achilli/dp/1565042492

  3. Great Southern Steve says:

    Where I came from, the sort of people who played those games – Werewolf, Vampire and some of the Steampunk ones – were the sort of people who actually wanted to live in an alternate reality, one in which other people found them sexually attractive.

    And I am not a NERD.

  4. Great Southern Steve says:

    Bully.

  5. chartreuseviolet says:

    can’t we just have a giant nerd group hug?! i played lame ass vampire too, and not even when it was that new. tabletop and live action. and magic. and text only games are my favorite. supergeek.

    i was quite sexually attractive at the time. you know, before the old set in.

    • gss says:

      i was quite sexually attractive at the time.

      Post pics.

      • chartreuseviolet says:

        they were stolen. what a cop out, but true. i guess that means it never happened. picture tutu, leather jacket, spike collar, and fishnets. you’ll get the idea.

      • Great Southern Steve says:

        I don’t believe them
        and I don’t believe you
        I suspect everything you do
        ’cause you are like a Bad Indian!

        Bad Indian!
        Do your war dance!!

        Now you’re stripped
        by the things you do
        your ass is glass and I can see through you!

        You are like a Bad Indian!

      • chartreuseviolet says:

        ha! now, should your ditty have a go-go beat is what i wanna know?

      • Great Southern Steve says:

        It’s a song by the Gun Club.

        Maybe I should post it from YouTube.

  6. I was playing it before it was cool. Of course, that could mean I was playing it five minutes ago.

Leave a Reply

